Let the Gutting Begin!

So the plan for this weekend was to gut the trailer out and get rid of all the interior components that could not be salvaged. My friend John and I started drilling, unscrewing and beating out all the walls and cabinets to really open things up and get a better assessment of the condition. My hopes are that the frame and shell of the trailer are good or at least repairable and that I can start from scratch and build the trailer back up into something I would be happy to live in.

After working till we could not see this evening I called it quits then the next day I went back and finished taking everything else out down to the bathroom.

One funny thing that happened was that John was pulling out a tambour door and as he unrolled it cockroaches came pouring out! He freaked and dropped the housing, not realizing that the door itself was also covered until he turned it around and shrieked then I grabbed it and threw it outside. All the bits and pieces will be trashed or burned to get rid of it.

I’ll do another update when we start replacing the subfloor and removing the belly pan

Leave a comment